In June 2017, Karstadt Warenhaus GmbH and the parent company SIGNA Retail took a decisive step in the development of their digital strategy and took over a 70 % stake of one of the largest online marketplaces in Germany, Hood.de.

Hood.deManagement

Ryan Hood

Ryan Hood

Ryan Hood, born in 1976, founded Hood.de in 1999. He is CEO of today’s Hood Media GmbH. Since 1990 Mr. Hood has been active in the precursor business of the internet and founded his first BBS online platform in 1992.

With 5 million items on offer and 7 million customers, hood.de is already one of the fastest growing marketplaces in Germany. The company, established 17 years ago by online pioneer Ryan Hood, gives private and commercial partners the opportunity to offer articles for sale in more than 20,000 categories. Currently, 5,000 dealers are offering over 5 million articles on Hood.de. The company is one of the few German online marketplaces which is already operating with clear profits.

The takeover of Hood.de is the next step in the strategy pushed forward by Karstadt CEO Dr. Stephan Fanderl, “The Marketplace of Tomorrow”, in which the business model of the department store will be further developed both offline and online, and implemented as a multi-partner model in all the marketing and sales channels.

Hood.de was taken over by the newly established Karstadt Marktplatz GmbH, a joint venture between Karstadt Warenhaus GmbH and SIGNA Retail. Karstadt Marktplatz GmbH will press ahead on the basis of the model of the future, the “Marketplace of Tomorrow”, to achieve further partnerships and acquisitions, thus pursuing the strategy of the SIGNA Retail Group of expanding all its retail participations onto all marketplaces capable of omni-channel and cross-channel operations.

Stephan Fanderl, Managing Director of Karstadt and SIGNA Retail: “With the takeover of Hood.de, we have been consciously and deliberately setting ourselves apart from the competition, and have taken the next major step towards an integrated omni-channel strategy and mastery of the digital marketplace. In future, we shall combine the strengths of 79 department stores with an already successful digital platform, bringing together thousands of providers. This will create a unique opportunity for brick-and-mortar as well as purely online concepts to take advantage, together with Karstadt Warenhaus, of the inner-city sales location in a way that really focuses on the demands, and thus to bring us even closer to our customers.”

Ryan Hood, online pioneer and founder of Hood.de: “Owing to Karstadt’s enormous reach and degree of popularity in the brick-and-mortar trade and our experience and expertise in e-commerce of 17 years, we see an ideal symbiosis between our two companies in order to continue developing a common online store.”

Die Karstadt Warenhaus GmbH und die Muttergesellschaft SIGNA Retail haben im Juni 2017 einen entscheidenden Schritt im Ausbau ihrer Digitalstrategie eingeleitet und 70 % an einem der größten deutschen Online-Marktplätze, Hood.de, übernommen. Die restlichen Anteile werden weiterhin vom Unternehmensgründer Ryan Hood gehalten, der Hood.de auch zukünftig eigenständig führen wird. Zusammen mit Karstadt wird Hood.de zukünftig am weiteren Wachstum und Ausbau eines gemeinsamen Onlinegeschäfts arbeiten.

Hood.deManagement

Ryan Hood

Ryan Hood

Ryan Hood, geb. 1976, hat Hood.de im Jahre 1999 gegründet und ist Geschäftsführer der heutigen Hood Media GmbH. Er ist bereits seit 1990 in den Vorläufern des Internets aktiv und gründete schon 1992 seine erste BBS Online-Plattform.

Hood.de ist mit derzeit über 5 Millionen Angeboten und rund 7 Millionen Kunden einer der am schnellsten wachsenden Online-Marktplätze Deutschlands. Das vom Online-Pionier Ryan Hood vor 17 Jahren gegründete Unternehmen bietet privaten und gewerblichen Partnern die Möglichkeit, Artikel in über 20.000 Kategorien zum Verkauf einzustellen. Von derzeit 5.000 Händlern werden über 5 Millionen Artikel auf Hood.de angeboten. Das Unternehmen zählt zu den wenigen deutschen Online-Marktplätzen, die bereits heute profitabel betrieben werden.

Die Übernahme von Hood.de war der nächste Baustein der von Karstadt CEO Dr. Stephan Fanderl forcierten Strategie „Marktplatz von morgen“, in der die Betriebsform Warenhaus sowohl offline als auch online weiterentwickelt und als Multi-Partner Modell auf allen Vertriebswegen umgesetzt wird.

Hood.de wurde durch die neu gegründete Karstadt Marktplatz GmbH übernommen, ein Joint Venture von Karstadt Warenhaus und SIGNA Retail. Die Karstadt Marktplatz GmbH soll rund um das Zukunftsmodel „Marktplatz von morgen“ weitere Partnerschaften und Akquisitionen vorantreiben und folgt damit der Strategie der SIGNA Retail Gruppe, sämtliche Einzelhandelsbeteiligungen zu Omni- und Cross-Channel-fähigen Marktplätzen auszubauen.

Dr. Stephan Fanderl, Geschäftsführer von Karstadt und SIGNA Retail: „Mit der Übernahme von Hood.de haben wir uns bewusst vom Wettbewerb abgesetzt und gehen den nächsten großen Schritt in Richtung integrierte Omni-Channel Strategie und digitale Marktplatzkompetenz. Wir verbinden künftig die Stärken von 79 Warenhäusern mit einer bereits jetzt erfolgreichen digitalen Plattform, die tausende Anbieter bündelt. So entsteht eine einzigartige Möglichkeit für stationäre als auch reine Online-Konzepte, gemeinsam mit Karstadt Warenhaus das innerstädtische Flächenangebot bedarfsorientiert zu nutzen und somit noch näher am Kunden zu sein.“

Ryan Hood, Online-Pionier und Gründer von Hood.de: “Wir sehen aufgrund der enormen Reichweite und dem Bekanntheitsgrad von Karstadt im stationären Handel und unserer 17-Jährigen Erfahrung und Kompetenz im e-Commerce eine ideale Symbiose, um künftig mit einem gemeinsamen Onlinegeschäft weiter zu wachsen.”