Karstadt Sports is one of Germany’s leading sportswear and equipment retailers, and operates stores at 28 city-centre locations. Acquired by SIGNA in autumn 2013, Karstadt Sports’ efforts are currently focused on extending the business’s successful development, leveraging its potential and driving forward the expansion process.

Karstadt sportsManagement

Michael Rumerstorfer

Michael Rumerstorfer

Michael Rumerstorfer began his career at Red Bull, where he worked as Brand Manager. He was previously Marketing and Sales Director at Atomic Austria and Head of Marketing at Sports Experts, before assuming overall responsibility for marketing at Sport Eybl in 2012. He became CEO of Planet Sports GmbH, one of Europe’s leading multi-channel action sports retailers, in January 2014.

Marcus Neul

Marcus Neul

Markus Neul was appointed CEO at Karstadt sports GmbH in October 2015. Over the previous 30 years he held numerous positions in purchasing and sales at Karstadt Warenhaus GmbH, including Category Manager, Central Purchasing Manager and Head of sports.

There is certainly cause for optimism: the sports and leisure industry is set to record above-average annual growth in the next few years, and consumer spending on health and wellness is rising sharply. Karstadt Sports’ strategy is geared towards offering top-quality products and services in all categories for urban customers, participants in team sports and the increasing number of female customers.

The company’s key assets are its brands, a clearly structured range comprising team sports, running/hiking and outdoor product categories, as well as a high level of consumer confidence in the brand.

This is complemented by an excellent portfolio of prime locations that is due to be expanded further, outstanding knowledge of the customer base and an experienced management team.

A year after the spin-off of Karstadt Warenhaus from Karstadt Sports, the sports equipment retailer took another important step on its way to becoming Germany’s number one sports retailer. The Karstadt Sports Online Shop has been online since October 2016. Thus, Karstadt Sports offers the best brand products at the best price to its clients not only in the 28 branches in prime inner city locations but also in the new online shop.

Karstadt Sports ist einer der führenden deutschen Sportartikelhändler und betreibt an 28 eigenen Standorten in zentralen Innenstadtlagen seine Stores. Das im Herbst 2013 von SIGNA übernommene Unternehmen setzt alles daran, den erfolgreichen Kurs weiter auszubauen, das Potenzial zu heben und die weitere Expansion von Karstadt Sports voranzutreiben.

Karstadt SportsManagement

Michael Rumerstorfer

Michael Rumerstorfer

Michael Rumerstorfer begann seine Karriere bei Red Bull und war zuletzt als Brand Manager tätig. Nach Stationen als Marketing & Sales Director bei Atomic Austria und als Marketingleiter für Sports Experts, wechselte er 2012 als Gesamtverantwortlicher für das Marketing zu Sport Eybl. Ab Jänner 2014 war er CEO bei Planet Sports GmbH, einem der führenden multi-channel Retailer für Actionsportarten in Europa.

Marcus Neul

Marcus Neul

Marcus Neul ist seit Oktober 2015 Geschäftsführer bei der Karstadt sports GmbH. Neul blickt auf über 30 Jahre in verschiedenen Positionen im Ein- und Verkauf bei der Karstadt Warenhaus GmbH zurück. Wesentliche Stationen von Marcus Neul waren zuvor die Positionen Category Manager, Zentraleinkäufer und schließlich Leiter sports.

Mehrere Faktoren erlauben einen optimistischen Blick in die Zukunft: In den kommenden Jahren wird mit einem überdurchschnittlichen Wachstum im Sport- und Freizeitbereich gerechnet.

Hinzu kommt der starke Trend der Konsumenten in Richtung Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden. Karstadt Sports konzentriert seine Strategie darauf, die besten Produkte und den besten Service in der jeweiligen Kategorie für urbane Sportkunden, für Mannschaftssportler und für die wachsende Anzahl weiblicher Kunden anbieten zu können

Hauptassets von Karstadt Sports sind seine Marken, das klare Sortiment mit den wesentlichen Warengruppen Teamsport, Laufsport/Wandern und Outdoor, das hohe Markenvertrauen der Konsumenten, ein exzellentes Portfolio an 1A Locations, die weiter ausgebaut werden sollen, herausragende Kundenkenntnis und das neue Managementteam.

Ein Jahr nach der Ausgliederung von Karstadt Sports von Karstadt Warenhaus hat der Sportartikelfachhändler einen weiteren wichtigen Schritt gesetzt, die Nummer 1 im deutschen Sportfachhandel zu werden. Seit Oktober 2016 ist der Karstadt Sports Online Shop live. Damit macht Karstadt Sports nicht nur in den 28 Filialen in besten Innenstadtlagen, sondern auch in der neuen Online-Welt seinen Kunden das Angebot der besten Markenartikel zum besten Preis.