Karstadt Sports is one of Germany’s leading Sportswear and equipment retailers, and operates stores at 28 city-centre locations. Acquired by SIGNA in autumn 2013, Karstadt Sports’ efforts are currently focused on extending the business’s successful development, leveraging its potential and driving forward the expansion process.

The company’s key assets are its brands, a clearly structured range comprising team Sports, running/hiking and outdoor product categories, as well as a high level of consumer confidence in the brand. This is complemented by an excellent portfolio of prime locations that is due to be expanded further, outstanding knowledge of the customer base and an experienced management team. E-commerce as well is becoming important for Karstadt Sports, alongside bricks-and-mortar retailing.

Karstadt SportsManagement

Jens Dunkel

Jens Dunkel

Jens Dunkel has been Head of Purchasing at Karstadt Sports since March 2020. He was CEO of the company from 2019. Prior to that, he was Head of Purchasing at Karstadt Sports once before from October 2017. The experienced retail manager looks back on a career in the German retail sector spanning many years. After holding various management positions at Aldi Nord, he initially joined the management team at Penny. In recent years he was the chief officer responsible for purchasing and category management, meaning he was heavily involved in the restructuring process and the cooperation between coop eG and the Rewe Group.

Thomas Wanke

Thomas Wanke

Thomas Wanke, born in 1961, was appointed Chief Executive Office of SportScheck and Karstadt Sports in March 2020. In this position he is responsible for the 52 sports shops (30 of them are Karstadt Sports shops) as well as for the online business of SportScheck and Karstadt Sports.  Prior to this, he has been Chief Sales Officer of Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof since July 2019. Since October 2017 he has already been CEO of Karstadt Sports. He held the position of Chief Retail Sales Officer of Karstadt Warenhaus from mid of 2013 to September 2017. He has an in-depth knowledge of the fashion market. In his positions at P&C, Adler Modemärkte and Charles Vögele he also gained expertise in the field of home textiles. His focus has always laid in the development of sales, especially in the improvement of sales and service orientation as well as the increase of employee motivation.

Stefan Weiß

Stefan Weiß

Stefan Weiß (born in 1975) has been the Chief Sales Officer of Karstadt Sports since July 1, 2019. In this function, he is responsible for all of the company’s sales activities as part of the management team, including visual merchandising and sales control. Before Stefan Weiß moved to SportScheck in 2009, for whom he led the Cologne branch and later became the deputy leader of the bricks-and-mortar sales area, he had already worked for Karstadt Sports and Karstadt. He has been back at Karstadt Sports since 2017, where he is responsible for the stores in Cologne and Essen as well as the so-called “Verbund West” (Group West) with a total of six stores.

Christian Marzinzik

Christian Marzinzik

Christian Marzinzik, born in 1967, has been Chief Financial Officer (CFO) of Karstadt Sports since August of 2017. After focusing on Accounting, Market & Sales during his university studies and subsequently working as a research assistant at Ruhr University in Bochum, Mr. Marzinzik joined Karstadt in 1998. He then worked at Itellium Systems & Services GmbH as department manager for scheduling systems and reporting for one year before returning to Karstadt in 2001, where he then held various positions within the company. Most recently, he held the position of Head of Controlling until August of 2017. From October of 2009, Mr. Marzinzik was simultaneously employed as the CFO of Le Buffet, a 100% subsidiary of Karstadt Warenhaus.

Karstadt Sports ist einer der führenden deutschen Sportartikelhändler und betreibt an 28 eigenen Standorten in zentralen Innenstadtlagen seine Stores. Das im Herbst 2013 von SIGNA übernommene Unternehmen setzt alles daran, den erfolgreichen Kurs weiter auszubauen, das Potenzial zu heben und die weitere Expansion von Karstadt Sports voranzutreiben.

Hauptassets von Karstadt Sports sind seine Marken, das klare Sortiment mit den wesentlichen Warengruppen Teamsport, Laufsport/Wandern und Outdoor, das hohe Markenvertrauen der Konsumenten, ein exzellentes Portfolio an 1A Locations, die weiter ausgebaut werden sollen, herausragende Kundenkenntnis und das neue Managementteam. Neben dem stationären Handel spielt auch der e-Commerce eine große Rolle bei Karstadt Sports.

Karstadt SportsManagement

Jens Dunkel

Jens Dunkel

Jens Dunkel ist seit März 2020 Einkaufschef von Karstadt Sports. Zwischenzeitlich war er seit 2019 CEO des Unternehmens, davor zeichnete er seit Oktober 2017 bereits als Einkaufs-Chef von Karstadt Sports verantwortlich. Der erfahrene Handelsmanager blickt auf eine langjährige Tätigkeit im deutschen Einzelhandel zurück. Nach mehreren Führungspositionen bei Aldi Nord wechselte er zunächst in die Geschäftsleitung von Penny. In den letzten Jahren verantwortete er als Geschäftsführer Einkauf und Category Management maßgeblich den Umbauprozess sowie die Kooperation zwischen der coop eG und der Rewe Group.

Thomas Wanke

Thomas Wanke

Thomas Wanke, geb. 1961, ist seit März 2020 CEO von SportScheck und Karstadt Sports. Er verantwortet die 52 Sportfilialen (davon 30 bei Karstadt Sports) und das Online-Geschäft von SportScheck und Karstadt Sports. Zuvor war er seit Juli 2019 Chief Sales Officer von Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof. Davor zeichnete er seit Oktober 2017 bereits als CaEO von Karstadt Sports verantwortlich. Von Mitte 2013 bis September 2017 war Herr Wanke als Vertriebs-Chef von Karstadt Warenhaus tätig. Herr Wanke verfügt neben umfassenden Kenntnissen des Fashion Marktes durch seine Stationen bei P&C, Adler Modemärkte und bei Charles Vögele auch über Erfahrungen im Bereich Heimtextilien. Wankes klarer Fokus lag bei all diesen Stationen auf der Weiterentwicklung des Vertriebs, insbesondere auf der Erhöhung der Verkaufs- und Serviceorientierung und der Mitarbeitermotivation.

Stefan Weiß

Stefan Weiß

Stefan Weiß, geboren 1975, ist seit 1. Juli 2019 Chief Sales Officer von Karstadt Sports. In dieser Funktion verantwortet er als Teil der Geschäftsleitung den gesamten Vertrieb des Unternehmens inklusive Visual Merchandising und Vertriebssteuerung. Bevor Stefan Weiß im Jahr 2009 zu SportScheck wechselte und dort die Filiale in Köln leitete und später die stellvertretende Bereichsleitung „Vertrieb Stationär“ innehatte, war er bereits bei Karstadt Sports und Karstadt tätig. Seit 2017 verantwortete er dann, zurück bei Karstadt Sports, die Filialen in Köln und Essen sowie den so bezeichneten Verbund West mit insgesamt sechs Filialen.

Christian Marzinzik

Christian Marzinzik

Christian Marzinzik, geboren 1967, ist seit August 2017 Chief Financial Officer (CFO) von Karstadt Sports. Nach dem Studium mit den Schwerpunkten Rechnungswesen und Markt & Absatz und seiner anschließenden Tätigkeit als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum stieg Herr Marzinzik im Jahr 1998 bei Karstadt ein. Nach seiner darauffolgenden einjährigen Beschäftigung bei Itellium Systems & Services GmbH als Abteilungsleiter für Dispositionssysteme und Berichtswesen kehrte er 2001 zu Karstadt zurück, wobei er in weiterer Folge unterschiedliche Positionen im Unternehmen besetzte. Zuletzt war er bis August 2017 als Leiter Controlling tätig. Ab Oktober 2009 war Herr Marzinzik gleichzeitig als CFO von Le Buffet, einer 100-%-igen Tochter von Karstadt Warenhaus, beschäftigt.