In 1946, when warm clothing was almost impossible to come by, Otto Scheck tailored his first winter sports collection from old military stocks in Munich and in so doing laid the foundation for the SportScheck company. After attending business school, Otto’s son Klaus Scheck joined the company in 1958. In 1965, he took over as SportScheck’s managing director, helping tennis and skiing, in particular, become mainstream sports in Germany in this role.

In 1988 SportScheck was acquired by the Otto Group, initially in the form of company shares and then completely in 1991.

In the 1970s one of the first artificial indoor climbing walls (possibly the first ever) was built in the stairwell of SportScheck’s Munich headquarters on Sendlinger Strasse. It was made of natural stone and designed by Reinhold Messner. When the company moved to Neuhauser Straße in 2016, its headquarters and the climbing wall were abandoned.

SportScheck is now represented both in brick-and-mortar retail and e-commerce with around 1,150 employees in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. The product range contains upwards of 35,000 products from more than 500 brands.

In its 17 city-centre stores, the company receives some 13 million visitors each year. SportScheck also organises sporting events with a total of 120,000 entrants annually, including Germany’s largest series of city races.

In December 2019 Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof concluded a contract with the Otto Group for the acquisition of SportScheck and all its subsidiaries. Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof will thus strengthen its position in this important growth market and become a market leader in omnichannel sports retailing.

SportScheckManagement

Thomas Wanke

Thomas Wanke

Thomas Wanke, born in 1961, was appointed Chief Executive Office of SportScheck and Karstadt Sports in March 2020. In this position he is responsible for the 52 sports shops (30 of them are Karstadt Sports shops) as well as for the online business of SportScheck and Karstadt Sports.  Prior to this, he has been Chief Sales Officer of Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof since July 2019. Since October 2017 he has already been CEO of Karstadt Sports. He held the position of Chief Retail Sales Officer of Karstadt Warenhaus from mid of 2013 to September 2017. He has an in-depth knowledge of the fashion market. In his positions at P&C, Adler Modemärkte and Charles Vögele he also gained expertise in the field of home textiles. His focus has always laid in the development of sales, especially in the improvement of sales and service orientation as well as the increase of employee motivation.

Im Jahr 1946, als warme Kleidung nicht verfügbar war, schneiderte Otto Scheck in München aus alten Militärbeständen seine erste Kollektion für den Wintersport und legte damit den Grundstein für das Unternehmen SportScheck. Nach der Wirtschaftsoberschule trat Klaus Scheck, Ottos Sohn, 1958 in die Firma ein, und übernahm 1965 bei SportScheck als Geschäftsführer die Verantwortung. In dieser Funktion sorgte er mit dafür, dass insbesondere Tennisspielen und Skifahren zu Breitensportarten in Deutschland wurden.

Im Jahr 1988 wurde SportScheck von der Otto Group zuerst anteilig und dann 1991 vollständig übernommen.

Im Münchner Stammhaus von SportScheck in der Sendlinger Straße wurde in den 1970er Jahren im Treppenhaus eine der ersten künstlichen indoor Kletterwände errichtet, vermutlich die erste überhaupt. Sie war gemauert aus Naturstein und geplant von Reinhold Messner. Mit dem Umzug 2016 in die Neuhauser Straße wurden das Stammhaus und die Wand aufgegeben.

Heute ist SportScheck mit rund 1.150 Mitarbeitern sowohl im stationären Geschäft als auch im e-Commerce in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz präsent. Das Sortiment umfasst mehr als 35.000 Artikel von über 500 Marken.

In den 17 innerstädtischen Filialen zählt das Unternehmen jährlich rund 13 Millionen Besucher. SportScheck organisiert weiters Sportveranstaltungen mit insgesamt 120.000 Teilnehmern jährlich wie die größte Reihe von Stadtläufen in Deutschland.

Im Dezember 2019 wurde mit der Otto Group ein Vertrag zur Übernahme von SportScheck mit allen Tochtergesellschaften durch Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof geschlossen. Damit verstärkt sich Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof im wichtigen Wachstumsmarkt Sport erheblich und wird zu einem Marktführer im Omni-Channel Sporthandel.

SportScheckManagement

Thomas Wanke

Thomas Wanke

Thomas Wanke, geb. 1961, ist seit März 2020 CEO von SportScheck und Karstadt Sports. Er verantwortet die 52 Sportfilialen (davon 30 bei Karstadt Sports) und das Online-Geschäft von SportScheck und Karstadt Sports. Zuvor war er seit Juli 2019 Chief Sales Officer von Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof. Davor zeichnete er seit Oktober 2017 bereits als CaEO von Karstadt Sports verantwortlich. Von Mitte 2013 bis September 2017 war Herr Wanke als Vertriebs-Chef von Karstadt Warenhaus tätig. Herr Wanke verfügt neben umfassenden Kenntnissen des Fashion Marktes durch seine Stationen bei P&C, Adler Modemärkte und bei Charles Vögele auch über Erfahrungen im Bereich Heimtextilien. Wankes klarer Fokus lag bei all diesen Stationen auf der Weiterentwicklung des Vertriebs, insbesondere auf der Erhöhung der Verkaufs- und Serviceorientierung und der Mitarbeitermotivation.