The prestigious Alsterhaus is prominently located at Jungfernstieg, facing the Binnenalster lake in the heart of Hamburg. As the best known department store in Hamburg it is operated by the KaDeWe Group. The popular location is perfectly suited for retail purposes and visited frequently by tourists from all over the world.

When the Alsterhaus opened its doors in April 1912, it became known throughout the city immediately. The old Tietz store had already impressed the people of Hamburg with its glittering lights and extensive assortment of goods. The new store on the Jungfernstieg was even more spectacular. It featured extravagant French hats, bespoke dresses, parasols made of pure silk, oriental carpets, books and much more.

Today the Alsterhaus boasts 24,000 m2 in the exclusive ambience of an historical building combined with youthful interior design. Over the course of the renovation work that began in 2016, the department store will receive a fundamentally new structure. In the next few years the Alsterhaus will be given a new look to upgrade it to the level of internationally renowned and culturally influential department stores. As always, guests from near and far encounter a proven mixture of high-quality products and friendly service.

© Franz Brück

The first stage of this great transformation was completed in 2016 with the opening of the Accessories Hall. Redesigned in accordance with plans by Kleihues & Kleihues, the atrium showcases a most exquisite selection, which includes bags and accessories from such brands as Céline, Saint Laurent, Balenciaga, Fendi and Valentino, as well as watches and jewellery by the Swiss jeweller Bucherer. The transformation of the ground floor of the Alsterhaus was complete once the Die Neue Schönheit [the new beauty] beauty department was finished in 2017. At the core of the department is the Fragrance Library with an incomparable selection of scents.

Even though the architecture of the Alsterhaus remained almost entirely intact during both world wars, the Jewish Tietz family, like many others, had to flee the country from the Nazis. Their department store had been systematically destroyed by the economic policy of the Nazi regime. After the war the heirs reached a settlement with the new owner of the Hertie Group. The Alsterhaus profited from the economic miracle of the 1950s and regained its leading position as an upscale department store. In the 1960s the sales area was increased to 19,000 m2 and in 1983 the interior was completely redesigned.

Das prestigeträchtige Alsterhaus, prominent am Jungfernstieg der Hamburger Binnenalster gelegen, ist das bekannteste Warenhaus in Hamburg und wird von der The KaDeWe Group betrieben. Als Einkaufsgegend höchster Qualität ist die frequente Lage auch bei Touristen besonders beliebt.

Als das Alsterhaus im April 1912 seine Türen öffnete, war es gleich stadtbekannt. Schon die alte Tietz-Filiale hatte die Hamburger mit ihrer Lichterpracht und ihrem umfangreichen Sortiment begeistert. Das neue Haus am Jungfernstieg war sogar noch spektakulärer. Es gab dort extravagante französische Hüte, maßgefertigte Kleider, Sonnenschirme aus reiner Seide, Orientteppiche, Bücher und vieles mehr.

Das Alsterhaus präsentiert sich heute auf 24.000 Quadratmetern in einem exklusiven Ambiente aus historischer Bausubstanz und junger Innenarchitektur und erhält im Zuge der 2016 aufgenommenen Umbauarbeiten abermals eine grundlegend neue Struktur. So wird das Alsterhaus im Laufe der kommenden Jahre ein neues Gesicht erhalten und auf eine Höhe mit international renommierten und kulturprägenden Department Stores gehoben. Wie eh und je wird Gästen aus Nah und Fern die bewährte Mischung aus hochwertigen Produkten und zuvorkommendem Service geboten.

 

© Franz Brück

Im Jahr 2016 wurde die erste Etappe der großen Transformation mit der Eröffnung der Accessories Hall abgeschlossen. In dem nach Entwürfen von Kleihues & Kleihues neu gestalteten Atrium findet sich die exquisiteste Markenauswahl: Taschen und Accessoires von Marken wie Céline, Saint Laurent, Balenciaga, Fendi und Valentino, Uhren und Schmuck des Schweizer Juweliers Bucherer. Mit der Fertigstellung des Beauty Departments „Die Neue Schönheit“ im Jahr 2017 wurde die Transformation des Erdgeschosses im Alsterhaus komplettiert. Im Zentrum des Departments steht die „Fragrance Library“, die eine unvergleichliche Auswahl an Düften präsentiert.

Obwohl die Architektur des Alsterhauses von beiden Weltkriegen nahezu unversehrt blieb, musste die jüdische Familie Tietz wie viele andere vor den Nazis ins Ausland fliehen. Systematisch war ihr Warenhaus von der Wirtschaftspolitik des NS-Regimes in den Ruin getrieben worden. Nach dem Krieg einigten sich die Erben mit dem neuen Besitzer des Hertie-Konzerns auf einen Vergleich. Das Alsterhaus profitierte vom Wirtschaftswunder der Fünfzigerjahre und gewann seine führende Position als gehobenes Warenhaus zurück. In den Sechzigerjahren vergrößerte sich die Verkaufsfläche auf 19.000 Quadratmeter; 1983 wurde die Innenarchitektur komplett umgestaltet.