Starting in 2021, this property in one of the most highly frequented shopping streets in Vienna will be transformed into a modern, world-class traditional department store. 

The real estate object in a distinctive location at the lower end of Mariahilfer Straße and directly adjoining the Museum Quarter was acquired by SIGNA with the goal of subjecting the building to extensive modernisation measures and developing it into a mixed-use commercial building. This ties it to the original history of the site as a traditional department store in a modern way. After the completion of the building’s remodelling measures, it will largely be operated by the  KaDeWe Group, which has many years of expertise in the retail sector. The other units will be rented out to other retailers as well as a hotel.

The existing building consists of three parts built in different years with a total usable floor space of about 58,000 m2 as well as an underground parking garage with 327 parking spaces.The planning includes a mix of tenants with premium goods, products for day-to-day needs and local fashion labels. On the rooftop, visitors will have access to upscale gastronomy and a publicly accessible roof park with a view of the city. This area spanning around 1,000 m2 is planned as a non-consumption-oriented public access area and will be accessible outside of the stores’ and restaurants’ opening hours. The project also includes a hotel with 150 to 165 rooms.

Architecture competition

The prestigious international architectural firm O.M.A. – Office for Metropolitan Architecture, founded by Pritzker Prize winner Rem Koolhaas, was selected as the winner of the architecture competition for the KaDeWe project in Vienna. A specialist jury consisting of experts from the areas of architecture, retail and project development as well as representatives of the city of Vienna and the 7th district has unanimously selected the project by the Dutch architectural firm as the winner.

HIstory of the DEPARTMENT STORE in the MARIAHILFER STRASSE

The corner building at Mariahilfer Straße 10-18 currently occupied by the Leiner furniture store can look back on a long and eventful  history. It attained fame at the end of the 19th century as one of Europe’s largest and most magnificent department stores and, together with legendary stores like Gerngross and Herzmansky, as one of the most important co-founders of the shopping culture on Mariahilfer Straße.

©Familie Esders

Die Immobilie in einer der meistfrequentierten Einkaufsstraßen in Wien, wird ab 2021 zum modernen Traditions-Warenhaus von Weltrang umgestaltet. 

Die Immobilie an einem markanten, direkt an das MuseumsQuartier angrenzenden Standort an der unteren Mariahilfer Straße wurde von SIGNA mit dem Ziel erworben, das Haus aufwändig zu modernisieren und zu einer gemischt genutzten Gewerbeimmobilie zu entwickeln. Damit knüpfen wir in moderner Weise an die ursprüngliche Geschichte des Standorts als Traditions-Warenhaus an. Nach Fertigstellung wird das Haus zum größten Teil von der KaDeWe Group geführt, die über langjährige Expertise im Handelssegment verfügt. Die übrigen Einheiten werden an weitere Einzelhändler und an ein Hotel vermietet.

Das Bestandsgebäude besteht aus drei Bauteilen unterschiedlicher Baujahre mit einer Gesamtnutzfläche von rd. 58.000 m² sowie einer Tiefgarage mit 327 Stellplätzen. Geplant ist ein Mietermix mit Waren aus dem Premium-Segment, Produkten des täglichen Bedarfs und lokalen Fashionlabels. Auf dem Dach stehen den Besucherinnen und Besuchern anspruchsvolle Gastronomie und ein öffentlich zugänglicher Dachpark mit Blick über die Stadt zur Verfügung. Diese Fläche von rund 1.000 qm ist als konsumfreie Zone geplant und wird auch außerhalb der Geschäftszeiten zugänglich sein. Das Projekt sieht außerdem ein Hotel mit 150 bis 165 Zimmern vor.

Architektenwettbewerb

Das renommierte internationale Architektenbüro O.M.A. – Office for Metropolitan Architecture, gegründet von Pritzker Preisträger Rem Koolhaas, hat den Architekturwettbewerb zum Projekt KaDeWe in Wien für sich entschieden. Eine Fachjury bestehend aus Experten der Bereiche Architektur, Handel und Projektentwicklung sowie Vertretern der Stadt Wien und des 7. Bezirks hat das Projekt des niederländischen Architektenbüros einstimmig zum Sieger gekürt.

Geschichte des Kaufhauses in der Mariahilfer Straße

Das heute als Möbelhaus Leiner bekannte Eckhaus an der Adresse Mariahilfer Straße 10-18 blickt auf eine lange und wechselvolle Geschichte zurück. Berühmt wurde es Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts als eines der größten und prächtigsten Warenhäuser Europas und, gemeinsam mit Kaufhaus-Legenden wie Gerngross und Herzmansky, als einer der wichtigsten Mitbegründer der Einkaufskultur auf der Mariahilfer Straße.

©Familie Esders